How do I delete chat history and files?

Who can delete chat history?

Administrators can delete any messages or files sent to any room. 

For non-administrators, one of the situations applies:

  • You can delete messages you wrote and files that you shared.
  • You cannot delete chat history at all. 
This depends on whether your group administrator has set a preference to limit history deletion to administrators only. (This preference is located on the Group admin > Features page.) 

What happens to the messages and files I delete?

Use caution when you delete messages and files. The messages and files you delete are deleted permanently. They cannot be restored.



Deleting chat history in a room

  1. Go to https://www.hipchat.com/rooms.
  2. Click on the name of the room in which you want to delete chat history.
  3.  Click History in the left menu bar.
  4. Search or browse for the message you want to delete.
  5. Hover over the message you want to delete, then click the X that appears to the left of the message.
Note: Messages are not immediately removed from the view of users who have already joined the room. The next time they sign in, they will no longer see the message.

Deleting history in 1-to-1 chats

  1. Go to https://www.hipchat.com/people.
  2. Click the name of the person you want.
  3. Click the View your chat history with link.
  4. Search or browse for the message you want to delete.
  5. Click the X that appears to the left of the message.

Deleting files


Follow the steps above to delete the message that contains the file you want to delete. The file is deleted with the message.


Feedback and Knowledge Base